End of the line

Retirement. Something enjoyed by many of the older generation who had the good sense and fortune to save for their old age. Nowadays, with retirement age heading steadily upwards (and considering our longer life that isn’t really unjustified) I doubt I’ll be out of work before I’m 70. But then again I enjoy my job, so there’s that.

In light of this, here’s something about old folk.

For years we must work to support others in old age,
We’re told that their advice is worth listening to and sage,
But both here and abroad,
I find this in discord,
For their voting habits often fill others with rage.

I wonder sometimes if folk should be banned from voting if they’re unlikely to see the outcome of their choices. Controversial? Probably. But possibly practical.

Leave a Reply

